Double Overtime: Michael Self Wins ARCA Lucas Oil 200 at Daytona

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Feb. 10, 2018)  Michael Self won the action-packed Lucas Oil 200 Driven by General Tire on Saturday night at Daytona International Speedway, after two “overtime” shootouts.

The Lucas Oil 200 opened the season for the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards. The race’s first overtime followed a multi-car backstretch incident on Lap 80 – the scheduled final lap – that necessitated a red-flag period. The first overtime lap went awry on the final turn on the 2.5-mile tri-oval, as several front-running cars got tangled up, bringing out another red flag. ARCA rules mandate a green-flag race finish, thus, a second OT.

That second try proceeded cleanly, with Self’s No. 15 Sinclair Lubricants Toyota breaking away early, and eventually edging Willie Mullins’ No. 3 Crow Wing Recycling/CW Metals/Bugsy’s Auto Ford by 0.562 seconds.

“We survived man, we survived,” Self said after a night spent cagily avoiding incidents. “We didn’t have brakes in the second half of the race, so in a couple of those wrecks I didn’t have a choice. I couldn’t slow down. I just kind of aimed it.”

Lucas Oil 200 polesitter Natalie Decker’s (No. 25 N29 Capital Partners Toyota) historic start ended with a fifth-place finish. Decker was the fourth female pole winner in Daytona International Speedway history, joining Danica Patrick (2013 DAYTONA 500), Erin Crocker (2007 Lucas Oil 200) and Patty Moise (1989 and ’90 Lucas Oil 200).

/ Newswire: Daytona International Speedway Press Release /

ARCA Racing Series Lucas Oil 200 Driven by General Tire top 10:

  1. Michael Self
  2. Willie Mullins
  3. Sheldon Creed
  4. Tom Hessert
  5. Natalie Decker
  6. Max Tullman
  7. Noah Gragson
  8. Leilani Munter
  9. Andrew Belmont
  10. Riley Herbst

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *